Lothians Golf Association

Lothians Order of Merit

Sponsored by 


The review of competitions in 2015 brought in some changes to the Men's Order of Merit. Following feedback from the players the Selection Committee incorporated some further modifications for 2017 including separating out the points awarded for good performance at national level. 

The overall Order of Merit will involve our programme of 13 events throughout the summer (including the Lothians Amateur Championship at Bruntsfield Links ).  A separate table for points awarded at national level will be displayed based on the points awarded by the SGL. (eg: Scottish Golf Limited, England Golf etc.) See the Lothians OOM events on the fixture list on the Home tab of the website.

The history of the OOM and a list of the winners can be seen by clicking the 'History' heading at the bottom of the list at the left hand side of this page.

The first event in the Lothians 2024 schedule is the Open Scratch competition at Longniddry Golf Club on 4 May 2024, the table below provides all dates and venues for 2024


The Leaderboards and full Results for the local OOM can be seen by clicking the tabs on the left of this page.

Please treat these dates as provisional.  

Event No Host Venue Holes Date
1 Longniddry Golf Club


Saturday, 4 May 2024
2 West Lothian Golf Club 36 Sunday, 12 May 2024
3 Duddingston Golf Club 18 Saturday, 25 May 2024
4 Uphall Golf Club 18 Sunday, 26 May 2024
5 Newbattle Golf Club 36 Sunday, 2 June 2024
6 Broomieknowe Golf Club 18 Sunday, 23 June 2024
7 Greenburn Golf Club 18 Sunday, 9 June 2024
8 Musselburgh Golf Club 18 Sunday, 16 June 2024
9 Turnhouse Golf Club 36 Sat & Sun, 6 & 7 July 2024
9 Bathgate Golf Club 18 Saturday, 20 July 2024

Lothians Amateur Championship

being played at Baberton Golf Club 

36 Sunday, 21 July 2024

Lothians Amateur Championship

being played at Baberton

MP 23,  25 & 28  July 2024
11 Royal Musselburgh Golf Club 18 Saturday, 27 July 2024
12 South East District Championship  72 TBC

Silverknowes Golf Club 18 TBC

Counting Events

The events on the schedule above will count towards the 2023 Lothians Golf Association Men's Order of Merit. Events fall into three categories as follows.

Category 1 (36 and 72 Hole Events)

Newbattle Open, Longniddry Open, Turnhouse Open, South East District, Lothian Amateur Championship (Qualifying), West Lothian Open.

Category 2 (18 Hole Events)

Musselburgh Open, Duddingston Open, Uphall Open, Greenburn Open, Bathgate Open, Royal Musselburgh Open, Broomieknowe Open, Silverknowes Open. 

Category 3

Lothian Amateur Championship (Matchplay)


To be eligible for inclusion, a player must: 

a) Be male and of amateur status as defined by R&A Rules.

b) Players must belong to a course-owning or affiliate member of the Association.

Final Placings

a) Eligible players will receive points relative to their final position/category in a nominated event.

b) All points collected by a player will form an aggregate and this total will determine their final placings.

c) In the event of a tie for first place, the title will be shared. 

d) Players finishing on the same score will receive a proportion of the points for the places. (Therefore two players finishing with the same score in 1st and 2nd place will receive the agrregate points for 1st and 2nd divided by 2. 

e) For events where there is a cut, players must make the cut to complete the tournament and receive points.

f) In the event os a 36 hole event being reduced to 18 holes, Category 2 points are awarded. 

Placing  Category 1 Category 2 Category 3
1st 120 60 200
2nd  100 50 150
3rd 90 45 100
4th 85 40 100
5th 80 35 75
6th 75 30 75
7th 70 25 75
8th 65 20 75
9th 60 15 50
10th 55 10 50







National Order of Merit

The Lothians National Order of Merit will be extracted directly from the Scottish Order of Merit. You will find this by following this link.


Prize vouchers will be presented for at least the first two places in the 2023 main Order of Merit.  The OOM will provide a guide for the selection process.   

Trophy presented in memory of Ian Dunlop by his colleagues on the Executive   

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.