Lothians Golf Association

Lothians Team Tournament

The event

The Lothians Team Tournament is open to all affiliated clubs and societies in the Lothians area of Scottish Golf Ltd. It was first played in 1921, the year the Lothians Golf Association was formally constituted.

Mortonhall won the inaugural event with an aggregate score of 463, finishing ahead of Burgess and Bruntsfield Links. WC White (Mortonhall), Dr A Clelland (Stewarts College FPs), Stuart Forsyth (Carlton) and WB Torrance (Burgess), as the four lowest scorers, were the qualifiers for a follow up individual match play tournament.

The Shield for the Team Tournament, was first played for in 1926, making it the oldest trophy in events run by the Lothians Golf Association. It cost seven guineas having been donated by members and past members of the committee at the time.

In 1936 the Stuart Cup was presented by a retiring secretary and this was used initially as the individual match play trophy. The individual match play event continued until 1947 the year the Amateur Championship was instigated. Between 1948 and 1964 the leading players in the Team Tournament went on to play a 36 hole stroke play event for the Stuart Cup. The Team Tournament then took on a foursomes format for a few years and the Stuart Cup found a new use as the trophy for the best qualifying score in the Amateur Championship.

In the first five years the individual event was dominated by WB Torrance (Burgess) and W Willis Mackenzie (Mortonhall), who each won it twice. They, incidentally, were the only Scottish players in the first Walker Cup team in 1922.

The current format involves teams of 3 players competing over 18 holes on one course. All three scores count and the winning club is the team who return the lowest aggregate score over the three rounds. The winning team represents the Lothians in the Scottish Men’s Club Championship in September and the winner of that then represents Scotland in the European Men’s Club Championship in October.

In conjunction with this event the Walker Trophy was presented in 1954 for the best Society Team score but a society can also win the main event. 


The 2019 event will be held on Saturday, 4 May at The Glen Golf Club. It is hoped that more teams will take part this year. Only 51 of our 110 clubs and societies entered in 2018 and only 9 of those were societies, which was very disappointing.


The 2018 event was held at Royal Musselburgh Golf Club where the Turnhouse team team of Steven Armstrong, Mark Napier and Ollie McCrone on 215 won the trophy by one shot from Craigielaw with Broomieknowe just one shot behind. George Heriots FP's won the Walker Trophy for the third year in a row with a score of 230 which was just one ahead of Port Seton who were also runners up in 2017. Turnhouse were 4th in the national club championships won by Fife at Kinross in September.

Past winners of the Team Tournament Past Winners of the Walker Trophy

2018  Turnhouse
2017  Duddingston
2016  Duddingston
2015  Longniddry
2014  Longniddry
2013  Duddingston
2012  Harburn
2011  Duddingston
2010  Carrickvale
2009  Bathgate
2008  Longniddry
2007  Longniddry
2006  Glencorse
2005  Broomieknowe
2004  Bruntsfield Links
2003  Ratho Park
2002  Glencorse
2001  Deer Park
2000  Ratho Park
1999  West Linton
1998  Mortonhall
1997  West Lothian
1996  Duddingston
1995  Broomieknowe
1994  Duddingston
1993  Cancelled
1992  Ratho Park
1991  Duddingston
1990  West Linton
1989  Bathgate
1988  West Lothian
1987  Turnhouse
1986  Prestonfield
1985  Broomieknowe
1984  Murrayfield
1983  Pumpherston
1982  Glencorse
1981  Murrayfield
1980  Glencorse
1979  Pumpherston
1978  Bank of Scotland
1977  Newbattle
1976  Turnhouse
1975  Dalmahoy
1974  Dalmahoy
1973  Gullane Comrades
1972  Dunbar
1971  Dalmahoy
1970  Musselburgh
1969  Duddingston
1968  Duddingston
1967  Dalmahoy
1966  Royal Bank
1965  Lothianburn
1964  Craigmillar Park
1963  Duddingston
1962  Edinburgh University
1961  Duddingston
1960  Dalmahoy
1959  Craigmillar Park
1958  Dalmahoy
1957  Prestonfield
1956  Edinburgh University
1955  Gullane
1954  Gullane
1953  Gullane           
1952  Longniddry
1951  Gullane
1950  Bruntsfield Links
1949  Melville College FP
1948  Royal Burgess
1947  Royal Burgess
1946  Turnhouse
1940 to 1945 Not played during the second world war
1939  Turnhouse
1938  Caermount
1937  Dalmahoy
1936  Duddingston
1935  Bass Rock
1934  Turnhouse
1933  Duddingston
1932  Bass Rock
1931  Baberton
1930  Dirleton Castle
1929  Duddingston
1928  Bass Rock
1927  Lothianburn
1926  Dirleton Castle
1925  Murrayfield
1924  Dirleton Castle
1923  Mortonhall
1922  Mortonhal
1921  Mortonhall

2018 George Heriots
2017 George Heriots FP’s
2016 George Heriots FP's

2015  BBT
2014  Temple
2013  Temple
2012  George Heriots FP's
2011  Bank of Scotland
2010  Temple
2009  George Heriots FP's
2008  Watsonians
2007  George Heriots FP's
2006  Hailes
2005  Temple
2004  Bank of Scotland
2003  Caermont
2002  Westermont
2001  Hailes
2000  Royal Bank of Scotland
1999  Watsonians
1998  Watsonians
1997  West Mains
1996  Westermont
1995  Scottish Life
1994  Scottish Universities
1993  Scotish Universities
1992  Royal Bank of Scotland
1991  Bank of Scotland
1990  Royal Bank of Scotland
1989  Royal banm of Scotland
1988  Watsonians
1987  Royal Bank of Scotland
1986  Torphin 20
1985  George Heriots FP's
1984  Bank of Scotland
1983   Royal Bank of Scotland
1982  TSB
1981  Royal Bank of Scotland
1980  Royal Bank of Scotland
1979  Royal Bank of Scotland
1978  Hailes
1977  Wallyford Welfare
1976  Royal Bank of Scotland
1975  Third
1974  Royal Bank of Scotland
1973  Third
1972  Watsonians
1971  Royal Bank of Scotland
1970  Scottish Universities
1969  Edinburgh University
1968  Edinburgh University
1967  Third
1966  Royal Bank of Scotland
1965  Scottish Universities
1964  Tantallom
1963  Scottish Dev. Office
1962  Edinburgh University
1961  Department of Health
1960  DCL Scotland
1959  Edinburgh University
1958  Dirleton Castle
1957  Bank of Scotland
1956  Edinburgh University
1955  Watsonians
1954  DCL Scotland

Team Tournament - Winner of the Individual Match Play Tournament 1921 to 1947 Winner presented with the Stuart Cup 1936 to 1947

Year Champion Club
1947 H M Williamson Edinburgh Western
1946 Ian A Williamson Mortonhall
1940 to 1945 No Tournament World War 2
1939 J Sibbald Dirleton Castle
1938 H S Mackersy Duddingston
1937 D S Wemyss Turnhouse
1936 C N S Tweedale Institution FP
1935 R B Denholm Bass Rock
1934 D C Murray Duddingston
1934 W G F Scott Dalmahoy
1932 R B Denholm Bass Rock
1931 J Lang Blackford
1930 H Watt Dirleton Castle
1929 G C Killey Duddingston
1928 R B Denholm Bass Rock
1927 W B Torrance Burgess
1926 W B Torrance Burgess
1925 G C Killey Duddingston
1924 C Mann Stewart's Melville
1923 W W Mackenzie Mortonhall
1922 W W Mackenzie Mortonhall
1921 W B Torrance Burgess

Team Tournament - Leading Individual Score and winner of the Stuart Cup 1947 to 1964

Year Winner Club
1964 J M Brown Lothianburn
1963 C N Hastings Watsonians
1962 P G Brown Tantallon
1961 A R Murphy Turnhouse
1960 W G Richmond Dalmahoy
1959 D C Louden Tantallon
1958 J Burnside Prestonfield
1957 J Burnside Prestonfield
1956 A M M Bucher Bruntsfield Links GS
1954 A F D Macgregor Merchants
1953 R Wight Duddingston
1952 R M Lees Liberton
1951 G W Mackie Gullane
1950 A M M Bucher Bruntsfield Links GS
1949 S B Williamson Longniddry
1948 Wm. Sibbald Dirleton Castle

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.