Lothians Golf Association

Prestonfield Golf Club

Lothians Sivewright Quaich

Provisional - Final will be played on Sunday, 22nd September 2024 at Prestonfield Golf Club

The Event

The Sivewright Quaich was instigated by W A W Sivewright, one of a distinguished band of people who have been President of the Lothians Golf Association (1960-62) and of the Scottish Golf Union (1966-68). He also served as Secretary of the Lothians (1951-1958). The idea for the event was in response to an increase in the subscriptions, by the SGU, for what were called non-course owning clubs at the time. (Now known as Affiliates)

The format is a handicap version of the Dispatch Trophy where four-man teams play foursomes aggregate match play in a knock-out competition during the season.

The final has been traditionally played at Prestonfield Golf Club, which was Bill Sivewright's home club.

The history of the event and a list of the winners can be seen by clicking the 'History' heading at the bottom of the list at the left hand side of this page.


The 2023 final was played as usual over the a very well presented Prestonfield GC. The association is very much indebted to the club for continuing this tradition in the memory of Bill Sivewright. The final was between Hailes Golf Club and local team Smarts TSB.

Hailes Golf Club, who last won the quaich in 1972, came out top In a good humoured final in which they played some wonderful golf fitting of this prestigious event. Running out 5&4 victors Hailes joy could be seen written all over their faces in what is their Centenary Year.  On this occasion defending champions Smarts TSB were not able to convert their home advantage as the Kingsknowe based Hailes team took the initiative, particularly in the second foresome, and ran out worthy winners.

                       The winning Hailes team can be seen here with the Quaich.                         L to R: Willie Law, Mike Porter, Gordon Laidlaw and Robbie Sanderson.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.