Lothians Golf Association

Muirfield Golf Course

Lothians Handicap Matchplay

Semi Finals on Tuesday 13th August and Final on Thursday, 15th August 2024 to be played at the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, Muirfield

The Lothians Handicap Match Play is open to players from all the clubs and societies affiliated to the Lothians Golf Association.

Clubs have complete freedom to choose who represents them with the only requirement being that the player has a national handicap between 10 and 28 at the time of entry. In the past Clubs have chosen their B Champion, the person of the right handicap who has progressed the furthest in the summer singles, the winner of a particular handicap event, or just someone who has expressed an interest in playing, drawn from a hat if necessary.

A draw is made in February, with the first names out of the hat enjoying home advantage through until the semi-finals, which, along with the final, are played at a neutral venue.

The history of the event and a list of winners can be seen by clicking the ' History of Handicap Matchplay' heading at the bottom of the list at the left hand side of this page.

More detailed information about the trophy and the winners, including the runners-up, venues and scores, was included in a hand-out that was enclosed with a centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you click here.


The 2023 finals were played at Murrayfield Golf Club on the 8th & 10th August. In the semi finals defending champion  Stewart Leslie (Observers) beat James Reid (Winterfield) by 4&3. In the other match  Hamish Scott (Bank of Scotland Edinburgh) had a closer match against Graham Burnett (Duddingston) coming out on top by 2&1. The final was close over the opening holes with some excellent golf being played by both players who were both below their handicaps after 9 holes with Stewart just one up. However  Stewart Leslie (Observers) then pulled ahead to win 4&3 and become the first person to successfully defend this title since its inception in 1988.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.