Lothians Golf Association

Champion of Champions

The Event

The Lothians Champion of Champions event has been in existence since 1963 and involves the champions from all the clubs affiliated to the Lothians Golf Association. It has been won by some of the best players to come through the Lothians ranks, including George Macgregor and Ronnie Shade.

A draw is made in February of club champions from the previous year, with the first names out of the hat enjoying home advantage through until the semi-finals, which, along with the final, are played at a neutral venue.


The 2019 finals will be played at Archerfield Golf Club on Monday 12 and Wednesday 14 August. The recent trend of reduced number of entries was reversed in 2018 and we hope this continues in 2019. Every effort will be made by us to make sure every champion is made aware of the opportunity.


Rory Smith (Dalmahoy & Heriots) is the 2018 Champion of Champions following his 2 hole win over Craig Davidson (Craigielaw). Craig repeated his semi -final start by being two up after 3 holes rolling in a 30’ birdie putt at the second and then followed Rory’s 15’ birdie putt at the third by matching it from 12’. Rory clawed one back at the 6th and a birdie by him at the 8th saw them all square, which was still the case at the turn. Visits to the trees by Craig at the next two holes saw Rory two up but he then got trapped behind a wall at the 12th and close to a tree at the 13th and the match was back to all square. Rory went ahead again after a massive 35’ birdie putt at the 14th but lost that advantage immediately after going through the back of the short 15th. Both players had experienced golfers on their bags with John Archibald assisting Rory and Ross Colquhoun with Craig and they certainly needed that level of support over the closing holes. Rory’s 2 iron tee shot to the edge of the 291 yard 16th however gave him a vital one hole advantage. Craig’s excellent birdie at the 17th was matched following an exquisite pitch to about two foot by Rory who sealed a high quality low scoring match on the 18th with yet another birdie for a two hole win.

The losing semi-finalists were Alan Mackay (Kingsknowe) and Ross Thomson (Gullane).

Lothian Champion of Champions

Year Champion Club
2018 R Smith Dalmahoy & Heriots
2017 G Davidson Winterfield
2016 S Lockhart Bathgate
2015 S Simants Dunbar
2014 G Davidson Winterfield
2013 K A Nicholson Haddington
2012 C Brown Third
2011 A Dick Kingsknowe
2010 B Tait Watsonians
2009 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2008 G Davidson Winterfield
2007 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2006 K A Nicholson Haddington
2005 K. Nicholson Haddington
2004 J Yuille Scottish Universities
2003 N. Gemmell Tantallon
2002 J.R. Johnston Watsonians
2001 J. Gallagher Swanston
2000 K. Nicholson Dunbar / Haddington
1999 K.Reilly Silverknowes
1998 B. Erskine Merchants of Edinburgh
1997 S. Walker West Linton
1996 F. Stewart Prestonfield
1995 W. Main Gullane
1994 R. Tait Carricknowe
1993 K. Nicholson Haddington
1992 S.T. Knowles B.M.C. Social Club
1991 K. Millar Duddingston
1990 P. Ramsay Scottish Life
1989 A.R. Gray R.I.C.S.
1988 C.K. Cox West Lothian
1987 C.P. Christy R.I.C.S.
1986 J. McManus Uphall
1985 J. Bryce Edinburgh Licensed Trade Assistants
1984 A.P. Hubble S.U.G.S. / Scottish Life
1983 R.W. Bradly Scottish Widows
1982 R.M.F. Jack Kingston
1981 J. Huggan Winterfield
1980 C.K. Cox West Lothian
1979 W.S. Morton Scottish Life
1978 M.J.S. McEwan Gifford
1977 W.S. Morton Scottish Life
1976 R.T.D. Gibson Livingston Dev.
1975 W.S. Morton Scottish Life
1974 J.L.McL. Martin Dalmahoy
1973 J.N. Rowberry Kilspindie
1972 J. Howieson Greenburn
1971 P.J. Smith Dalmahoy
1970 S. McDonald Dalmahoy
1969 W. Middleton Prestonfield
1968 R.D.B.M. Shade Duddingston
1967 F.C. Black Prestonfield
1966 R.D.B.M. Shade Edinburgh City F.C.
1965 J.G. McGregor Scottish Div.
1964 G. Macgregor Jnr. Glencorse
1963 R.B. Williamson Royal Burgess

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.