Lothians Golf Association

Lothians Seniors Championship

Monday, 5th July 2021 being played at Liberton Golf Club

The Event

One of the most popular events on the fixture list, it involves both handicap and scratch events. The prize for the overall winner is the Ian MacNiven Quaich, which was donated in 2011 by Renton Laidlaw in memory of the late Edinburgh Evening News golf correspondent. Prior to that, the champion received the Buisitron Trophy.

Our recent governance review highlighted the fact that we should do more for players in the higher handicap ranges. This competition caters for all people with a national handicap whose home club is in the Lothians and who are over the age of 55 on the day of the competition so it certainly addresses that issue. There are handicap and scratch prizes in 3 age ranges.

The R M Lees Trophy is the top scratch prize. The leading scratch player gets an automatic invitation to play in the Lothians Seniors team in the Seniors Area Team Championship and this event also influences the other places in that 6 man team. The Lothians won the Scottish event in 2019.

More detailed information about the trophies and the winners, including the venues for each event, was included in a hand-out enclosed with a Centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you click here.


Liberton Golf Club, kindly hosted the Seniors Championship in 2021, they were to host it in their Centenary year in 2020 but COVID restrictions put paid to that. It is particularly appropriate since this was for many years the home club of Bobby Lees whose trophy is competed for as the top scratch prize.

On a difficult morning with torrential rain, the course managed to stay open through some excellent work of the Liberton Greens Staff, despite this there was some excellent golf played and it was Graeme Millar (Swanston) who managed to follow in the previous winners footsteps by taking both the Handicap and Scratch events. Graeme recorded a scratch winning 69 and with his handicap of four removed  recorded a Nett 65 to win both trophies.

Graeme is pictured here receiving both the Ian MacNiven Quaich for the Handicap and the RM Lees Trophy for the best Scratch from President, Jean Macnab.

Graeme will now be invited to play for the Lothians team in our Cup holding Seniors team when we defend our Seniors Area Team Championship later in the year.


Due to the World Wide Coronavirus Pandemic (COVID-19), this tournament was unable to be played.

Lothians Seniors Championship

Year Champion Club
2020 Not Played Notplayed due to COVID-19 restrictions
2019 T Cannon Baberton
2018 J Golder Royal Burgess G S
2017 C Sinclair Gullane
2016 I Fyfe Musselburgh
2015 G Scholes Dunbar
2014 J Lowe Pumpherston
2013 M Roberts Duddingston
2012 L A Gordon Turnhouse
2011 T Gowan Kilspindie
2010 J Mackie West Linton
2009 Rained Off N/A
2008 J C Stewart Marriott Dalmahoy
2007 R Stuart Harburn
2006 J Barnet Craigielaw
2005 W Dyet Ratho Park
2004 J Barnet Craigielaw
2003 R. Ramage Kingsknowe
2002 R. Kerr Baberton
2001 R.R. Adam Tantallon
2000 J. McLean Bathgate
1999 R.R. Adam Tantallon
1998 A.C. Ramage Bruntsfield Links
1997 J. McLean Bathgate
1996 T.A. Wallace Glencorse
1995 G. Taylor Kingsknowe
1994 A.B. Hendry Baberton
1993 J. Hogg Duddingston
1992 T.H. Wallace Glencorse
1991 J. Richardson Newbattle
1990 J.H. McAvoy Gullane
1989 D. Lowe Longniddry
1988 J. Borthwick Dalmahoy
1987 D.W. Malcolm Kilspindie
1986 I.R. Grant Gullane
1985 A.C. Paterson Prestonfield
1984 H.F. Renwick Newbattle
1983 T. Meek Musselburgh
1982 D. Mackenzie Duddingston
1981 P.T. Hastie Royal Musselburgh

R M Lees Trophy for he leading Scratch Score. 

Year Winner Club
2019 T Cannon Baberton
2018 M Louden Glencorse
2017 D Hamilton Mortonhall
2016 I Fyfe Musselburgh
2015 I Dickson Mortonhall
2014 R M F Jack Liberton
2013 M Roberts Duddingston
2012 L A Gordon Turnhouse
2011 F McCluskey Royal Burgess
2010 L A Gordon Turnhouse
2009 Rained Off N/A
2008 J C Stewart Marriott Dalmahoy
2008 J C Stewart Marriott Dalmahoy
2007 R J Humble Kilspindie
2006 R J Humble Kilspindie
2005 J.W. Inglis Glencorse
2004 I Fraser Duddingston
2003 R. Walkingshaw Royal Musselburgh
2002 R. Walkingshaw Royal Musselburgh
2001 A.R. Murphy Baberton
2000 J.W. Inglis Glencorse
1999 J. McLean Bathgate
1998 J. McLean Bathgate
1997 J. McL. Martin Kingsknowe
1996 J.McLean Bathgate
1995 J. McLean Bathgate
1994 G. Donaldson Dalmahoy
1993 R. Kerr Baberton
1992 R.L. Duke Ratho Park
1991 A.G.S. Morrison Prestonfield
1990 P.W. Miller Glen
1989 G. Gray Glencorse
1988 W.H. Duke Ratho Park
1987 G. Gray Kilspindie
1986 J. Borthwick Dalmahoy

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.