Lothians Golf Association

Bathgate Golf Club

South East District Championship

            Will be played at TBC on Saturday, 31st August & Sunday 1st September 2024                

Sponsored by

The Event

The South East District Championship was first played in 1968, when Uniroyal presented a trophy for a 72-hole event open to players from Lothians and the Borders. This Competition has a field of the 81 top amateurs played two rounds on the Saturday with the top 40 and ties going forward to a final two rounds on the Sunday.

The format has basically remained the same since then, although this is now an open event that counts towards the SGU Order of Merit, therefore attracting players from all round the country.
The 2001 event, for example, was won by Scottish internationalist Jack Doherty, who travelled up from the Vale of Glamorgan club in Wales.

In 2006 the tournament was nominated as a World Amateur Golf Ranking event and continues as such.
The first championship was fittingly won by RDBM Shade (Duddingston) shortly before he turned professional after a long and distinguished amateur career.

The history of the event and a list of winners can be seen by clicking the 'History' heading at the bottom of the list at the left hand side of this page.


Jamie Duguid (Dunbar) won the 2023 championship at Bathgate in convincing style with four rounds in the sixties. Jamie lead from start to finish with an outstanding score of 16 under par. Jamie's four scores of 65, 69, 67 and 67 meant he finished a remarkable 8 shots ahead of Musselburgh's Benn McLeod. Lothians Champion Stuart Blair (Royal Musselburgh) continued his good form and was a further shot back in third place.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.