Lothians Golf Association

Amateur Championship

The Lothians Championship is the Lothians Golf Association's flagship event and was first held in 1947 when the local evening newspaper presented the magnificent Evening News Championship Trophy, one of the most impressive trophies in golf. The Evening News sponsored the event for almost 50 years.

The Stuart Cup, which was first used for individual winners in the Team Tournament, has, since 1965, been used as the trophy for the leading qualifying score in the Amateur Championship.

The first winner of the Championship was A S Flockhart, of Royal Musselburgh. He went on to represent Scotland in the Home Internationals in 1948/49, a feat that has since been achieved by 15 other Lothians champions.

Winners have included former Ryder Cup and Walker Cup captains in Bernard Gallacher (1967) and George Macgregor (1968) respectively.

Duddingston has produced the most winners in the event, including five-time Scottish champion Ronnie Shade and Stuart Smith, who shares the record for the most wins - four - with Haddington's Keith Nicholson.

Before 2018, Smith, Nicholson, Gullane’s W C D Hare and Ratho Park's Callum MacPhail were the only players to have successfully defended the title, the former having chalked up a hat-trick of wins from 1993-1995 however they are now joined by Jamie Morris of Glencorse.

Only J Burnside has successfully defended the Stuart Cup (1957/58) and only Stuart Middleton (Glencorse) and Lee Morgan (Dunbar) have won both the stroke play and the match play trophies in the same year (1990 & 2016 respectively) but 10 others have won both trophies in different years.

The format for the event was reviewed for 2016 and having been successfully completed over the last three years, and the changes supported by the players, will remain in the revised format for 2019.

There will be a 36-hole stroke-play qualifying played over two rounds on Sunday 14 July at Broomieknowe in Midlothian. The leading 16 qualifiers go forward to the match play phase at the same venue with the match play rounds being held on Tuesday 16, Thursday 18 July and the semi-finals and final on Saturday 20 July.

The Association is grateful to Broomieknowe for agreeing to host our flagship event at their excellent course.



In the final Jamie Morris (Glencorse) retained the Lothians Championship at the 18th hole after a high quality final against Nurtai Saldarov (Craigielaw).

After halving the first 3 holes Jamie ran in a long putt from off the green at the 4th for an eagle 3, starting a run of four 3’s, including two birdies, to take a commanding 4 hole lead. However Nurtai, not for the first time in the last 2 weeks, kept his cool and birdied the 8th to get one back, only to lose that at the 11th but regain it again with another birdie at the 12th. Wayward shots by Jamie at the 13th and 14th narrowed the gap to 1 hole but Jamie played steady golf over the last 4 holes to hold that lead to the last. This was a great game of golf and display of sportsmanship by both players. Michael Rolland (Luffness New) and Sean Marc (Broomieknowe) were the beaten semi-finalists.

Nurtai Saldarov (Craigielaw) won the Stuart Cup as the leading qualifier with a 2 over par score of 142 with Jamie Duguid (Dunbar) one shot behind and defending Stuart Cup winner Stuart McLaren (Bruntsfield Links GS) in third place. The match play qualifying cut was 150.

Lothian Amateur Championship - Champion

Year Champion Club
2018 J Morris Glencorse
2017 J Morris Glencorse
2016 L Morgan Dunbar
2015 S Marc Broomieknowe
2014 D Miller Duddingston
2013 A Anderson Bruntsfield Links G.S.
2012 P Drake Pumpherston
2011 A Anderson Bruntsfield Links
2010 A. Dick Kingsknowe
2009 K A Nicholson Haddington
2008 C Orr Craigielaw
2007 M Hillson Craigielaw
2006 A Culverwell Dunbar
2005 D Warner Haddington
2004 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2003 J Gallagher Swanston
2002 B J Smith Duddingston
2001 K A Nicholson Haddington
2000 M D Timmins Prestonfield
1999 C Swanston Uphall
1998 K A Nicholson Haddington
1997 K A Nicholson Haddington
1996 D Robertson Dunbar
1995 S. Smith Duddingston
1994 S. Smith Duddingston
1993 S. Smith Duddingston
1992 C. Macphail Ratho Park
1991 C. Macphail Ratho Park
1990 S. Middleton Glencorse
1989 K. Hastings Broomieknowe
1988 B. Shields Bathgate
1987 D. Kirkpatrick Tantallon
1986 S. Smith Duddingston
1985 S. Easingwood Dunbar
1984 P.J. Smith Pumpherston
1983 A. Roy Royal Musselburgh
1982 R.W. Bradly Baberton
1981 J.B. Dunlop Broomieknowe
1980 S.T. Knowles Kingsknowe
1979 C.P. Christy Duddingston
1978 S. Stephen Broomieknowe
1977 I.D. Stavert Duddingston
1976 N.J. Fisher Lothianburn
1975 R.C.E. Muir Broomieknowe
1974 L.G.A. Morton Baberton
1973 W.C. Davidson Duddingston
1972 P.B.M. Bucher Bruntsfield Links
1971 A.G.G. Miller Prestonfield
1970 C. McCulloch Baberton
1969 D.F. Campbell Royal Bank
1968 G. Macgregor Glencorse
1967 B. Gallacher Bathgate
1966 G.E. Robertson Scottish Widows
1965 A.J. Low Duddingston
1964 R.D.B.M. Shade Duddingston
1963 A.M. Lourie Duddingston
1962 H.M. Campbell Carrickvale
1961 H.C. Brownlie Craigmillar Park
1960 D.W. Alexander Dalmahoy
1959 A.H.H. Campbell Turnhouse
1958 J.R. Kyle Turnhouse
1957 D.W. Alexander Dalmahoy
1956 P.R. Bryce Gullane
1955 A.M.M. Bucher Bruntsfield Links
1954 S. Smith Edinburgh Thistle
1953 W.C.D. Hare Gullane
1952 W.C.D. Hare Gullane
1951 A.B. Taylor Dalmahoy
1950 I. Macniven Mortonhall
1949 C.M. Meek Baberton
1948 R.M. Lees Liberton
1947 A.S. Flockhart Royal Musselburgh

Lothians Amateur Championship
Leading Qualifier Winner presented with Stuart Cup since 1965

Year Champion Club
2018 N Saldarov Craigielaw
2017 S McLaren Bruntsfield Links
2016 L Morgan Dunbar
2015 A Dick Kingsfield
2014 C Burgess Musselburgh
2013 J McIntosh Broomieknowe
2012 A Dick Kingsknowe
2011 S Simants Dunbar
2010 G A Robertson Silverknowes
2009 P Drake Pumpherston
2008 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2007 K. A. Nicholson Haddington
2006 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2005 C Neilson Dunbar
2004 R Moffat Dundas Parks
2003 K. A. Nicholson Haddington
2002 G. L. Corrigan Greenburn
2001 D. Thomson Deer Park
2000 K A. Nicholson Haddington
1999 J. Noon Musselburgh
1998 C. Swanston Uphall
1997 F. Stewart Prestonfield
1996 N.R. Shillinglaw Glencorse
1995 S. Cowper Linlithgow
1994 J. McLean Bathgate
1993 S.C. Smith Duddingston
1992 S.J. Gallacher Bathgate
1991 M. Robson Kingsknowe
1990 S. Middleton Glencorse
1989 B. Shields Bathgate
1988 D.E.D. Neave Murrayfield
1987 S. Mackenzie West Linton
1986 M. Kirk Harburn
1985 M. Stevenson Harrison
1984 J. Noon Musselburgh
1983 A.G.G. Miller Bruntsfield Links
1982 P.B. Lamb Glencorse
1981 S.T. Knowles Kingsknowe
1980 W.E. Middleton Prestonfield
1979 W.L. Gray Dunbar
1978 L.A. Gordon Turnhouse
1977 W.S. Morton Glencorse
1976 D.F. Campbell Royal Bank
1975 L.A. Gordon Turnhouse
1974 J. McLean Bathgate
1973 D.M. Robertson Dunbar
1972 F.A. Hall Longniddry
1971 J.E. Murray Baberton
1970 P.J. Smith Dalmahoy
1969 G. Macgregor Jnr. Glencorse
1968 A.B. Hendry Baberton
1967 J.N. Rowberry Royal Musselburgh
1966 F.C. Black Prestonfield
1965 Hugh Campbell & J McLean Carrickvale & Bathgate

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.