Lothians Golf Association

Bathgate Golf Club

South East District Championship

                          History of the SED Championship

Sponsored by

The Event

The South East District Championship was first played in 1968, when Uniroyal presented a trophy for a 72-hole event open to players from Lothians and the Borders. This Competition has a field of the 81 top amateurs played two rounds on the Saturday with the top 40 and ties going forward to a final two rounds on the Sunday.

The format has basically remained the same since then, although this is now an open event that counts towards the SGU Order of Merit, therefore attracting players from all round the country.
The 2001 event, for example, was won by Scottish internationalist Jack Doherty, who travelled up from the Vale of Glamorgan club in Wales.

In 2006 the tournament was nominated as a World Amateur Golf Ranking event and continues as such.
The first championship was fittingly won by RDBM Shade (Duddingston) shortly before he turned professional after a long and distinguished amateur career.

2021 saw a new Sponsor come on board for this tournament and we are delighted to introduce AKRO Multihire. Their main business comprises of the supply and hiring of small plant, tools and consumables to the construction industry together with greenkeeping teams around the Lothians and further afield. We are delighted to note that their growing reputation has seen quite a few of our Lothian golf clubs using their services. 

More detailed information about the trophy and the winners, including the runners up, scores and venues was included in a hand-out enclosed with a Centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you  click here.

Past Winners

2023 J Duguid (Dunbar)
2022 A Dick (KIngsfield)
2021 A Dick (Kingsfield)
2020 Not played due to COVID-19 Restrictions
2019  S McLaren (Bruntsfield Links GS)
2018 R Smith (Dalmahoy)
2017 B McLeod (Musselburgh)
2016 E McIntosh (Turnhouse)
2015 M Clark (Kilmalcolm)
2014 D Kay (Dunbar)
2013 J McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie)
2012 A Dunton (McDonald)
2011 G Robertson (Glenbervie)
2010 S Stewart-Cation (Balbirnie Park)
2009 D Somerville (St Andrews)
2008 S Borrowman (Dunbar)
2007 C Macauley (Tulliallan)
2006 G Campbell (Blairgowrie)
2005 S Smith (Duddingston)
2004 E Ramsay (Carnoustie)
2003 S Wilson (Forfar)
2002 S Armstrong (Ratho Park)
2001 J Doherty (Vale of Glamorgan)
2000 J King (Cardross)
1999 S Carmichael (Cardross)
1998 G Fox (West Kilbride)
1997 S Mackenzie (West Linton)
1996 G Rankin (Palacerigg)
1995 S Mackenzie (West Linton)
1994 G Sherry (Barassie)
1993 M Brooks (Carluke)
1992 J McGarragle (La Moye)
1991 Not played due to bad weather
1990 S Knowles (Kingsknowe)
1989 C Cassels (Murcar)
1988 S Easingwood (Dunbar)
1987 S Easingwood (Dunbar)
1986 J Yuille (Royal Burgess GS)
1985 M Timmins (Edinburgh Thistle)
1984 G Macgregor (Glencorse)
1983 J Noon (Musselburgh)
1982 P Gallacher (Peebles)
1981 G Macgregor (Glencorse)
1980 G Macgregor (Glencorse)
1979 G Macgregor (Glencorse)
1978 J Wells (Peebles)
1977 W Morton (Glencorse)
1976 P Bucher (Bruntsfield Links GS)
1975 G Macgregor (Glencorse)
1974 P Smith (Dalmahoy)
1973 T Robertson Jnr (Dalmahoy)
1972 G Macgregor (Glencorse)
1971 J Macdonald (Dalmahoy)
1970 W Middleton (Prestonfield)
1969 J Macdonald (Dalmahoy)
1968 RDBM Shade (Duddingston)

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.