Lothians Golf Association

Muirfield Golf Course

Lothians Champion of Champions

The Event

The Lothians Champion of Champions event has been in existence since 1963 and involves the champions from all the clubs and societies affiliated to the Lothians Golf Association. It has been won by some of the best players to come through the Lothians ranks, including George Macgregor and Ronnie Shade.

A draw is made in February of club champions from the previous year, with the first names out of the hat enjoying home advantage through until the semi-finals, which, along with the final, are played at a neutral venue.

The history of the event and a list of the winners can be seen by clicking the 'History' heding at the bottom of the list at the left hand side of this page.

More detailed information about the trophy and the winners, including the runners up, scores and venues was included in a hand-out enclosed with a Centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you click here.

Lothian Champion of Champions

Year Champion Club
2023 S McCandless Bathgate
2022 K Glen Craigielaw
2021 C Johnstone Royal Musselburgh
2020 Not Played Not Played due to COVID-19 Restrictions
2019 G Davidson Winterfield
2018 R Smith Dalmahoy & Heriots
2017 G Davidson Winterfield
2016 S Lockhart Bathgate
2015 S Simants Dunbar
2014 G Davidson Winterfield
2013 K A Nicholson Haddington
2012 C Brown Third
2011 A Dick Kingsknowe
2010 B Tait Watsonians
2009 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2008 G Davidson Winterfield
2007 S Armstrong Turnhouse
2006 K A Nicholson Haddington
2005 K A Nicholson Haddington
2004 J Yuille Scottish Universities
2003 N. Gemmell Tantallon
2002 J.R. Johnston Watsonians
2001 J. Gallagher Swanston
2000 K A Nicholson Dunbar / Haddington
1999 K.Reilly Silverknowes
1998 B. Erskine Merchants of Edinburgh
1997 S. Walker West Linton
1996 F. Stewart Prestonfield
1995 W. Main Gullane
1994 R. Tait Carricknowe
1993 K A Nicholson Haddington
1992 S.T. Knowles B.M.C. Social Club
1991 K. Millar Duddingston
1990 P. Ramsay Scottish Life
1989 A.R. Gray R.I.C.S.
1988 C.K. Cox West Lothian
1987 C.P. Christy R.I.C.S.
1986 J. McManus Uphall
1985 J. Bryce Edinburgh Licensed Trade Assistants
1984 A.P. Hubble S.U.G.S. / Scottish Life
1983 R.W. Bradly Scottish Widows
1982 R.M.F. Jack Kingston
1981 J. Huggan Winterfield
1980 C.K. Cox West Lothian
1979 W.S. Morton Scottish Life
1978 M.J.S. McEwan Gifford
1977 W.S. Morton Scottish Life
1976 R.T.D. Gibson Livingston Dev.
1975 W.S. Morton Scottish Life
1974 J.L.McL. Martin Dalmahoy
1973 J.N. Rowberry Kilspindie
1972 J. Howieson Greenburn
1971 P.J. Smith Dalmahoy
1970 S. McDonald Dalmahoy
1969 W. Middleton Prestonfield
1968 R.D.B.M. Shade Duddingston
1967 F.C. Black Prestonfield
1966 R.D.B.M. Shade Edinburgh City F.C.
1965 J.G. McGregor Scottish Div.
1964 G. Macgregor Jnr. Glencorse
1963 R.B. Williamson Royal Burgess

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.