Lothians Golf Association


Junior Champion of Champions

The event 

The Lothians Boys' Champion of Champions is a relatively new event, having been started at Craigmillar Park in their Centenary year in 1995. Wherever possible, the venue has been at a Lothians club celebrating its Centenary.  

It is interesting to note that the first winner of the Speirs Trophy, the prize on offer in the Lothians' Boys' Championship, was J Aitchison (Caermount) and this long-standing non course-owning club now supports Lothians junior golf by sponsoring the Boys' Champion of Champions event.

Two winners of the event, 1998 and 1999 champion David Inglis and 2002 victor Lloyd Saltman, went on to represent Great Britain & Ireland in the Walker Cup.  


The Junior Champion of Champions event was played at Swanston GC on Sunday, 27 March 2022. There were only 12 competitors after a few entrants required to withdraw due to various illnesses and work commitments, however, that did not dampen the enthusiasm of those who played.

This event was once again sponsored by one of our Area Affiliate Clubs, Caermount and we are grateful to their Club and members for their continued support of this event.

The Swanston course was provided in excellent condition and it was no surprise that our young players started to get the measure of the course.

It turned out to be a successful day for Sean Gallacher the Prestonfield Champion who managed to get round in 74 shots for his 5 over round. He was pushed all the way by his playing companions and required a BIH score to get himself over the line. In second place was Baberton's  Luca Smith (74) with Harry Hawthorn (75) of Murrayfield was third.

In the handicap element of the competition it was success for Liam Findlay of Harburn who recorded a 77 less his 8 shots for a Nett 69, second was Dalmahoy player, Cameron Kpedekpo who scored 76 less 5 for a nett 71.

Winner, Sean Gallacher is seen here being presented with the Junior Champion of Champions Shield from President, Jean Macnab, Graham Miller, Swanston Captain and John Steyn, Caermount Captain.

The second photo shows Sean with fellow prizewinners L to R; Liam Findlay, Harry Hawthorn, Sean Gallacher and Luca Smith.



The event was played at Baberton GC in August 2021. There were 21 competitors after a few entrants required to withdraw due to the Scottish Boys and British Boys Championships, however that did not dampen the enthusiasm of those who played.

The winner was Neil Canavan the Longniddry Champion who managed to get round in 69 shots for his one under round. He played so well that he left his rivals three strokes adrift and also lifted the SW Edinburgh Junior Championship as well. In second place was Royal Musselburgh's  Luke Greig (72) with Connor Currie (73) of Turnhouse was third. In the handicap element of the competition it was success for Arran Watt of Swanson who recorded a 76 for a Nett 67, second was local Baberton player, Charlie Smith who scored 96 less 27 for a nett 69.

Winner, Neil Canavan is seen here being presented with the Junior Champion of Champions Shield from President, Jean Macnab and Margo Boyle the Baberton Lady Captain.

2019 & 2020

Due to the World Wide Coronavirus Pandemic (COVID-19), this tournament was unable to be played. 


The 2018 event was played at Craigmillar Park Golf Club in March 2019 where Cameron Gallagher (Longniddry) won with a great three under par score of 67. He is seen in the photograph receiving the trophy from a representative from sponsor Caermount. Jack Noon (Musselburgh) was close behind on 69. Jamie Simpson (Bruntsfield Links GS) and Neil Canavan (Kilspindie) were third equal on 71. The handicap first prize went to Kiron Gribble (Melville) with a score of 79 – 15 = 64.

Previous winners

Year Winner Club Score Image Venue
2021 S Gallacher Prestonfield 74 Swanston
2020 N Canavan Longniddry 69 Baberton
2019 Not Played due to COVID 19 Restrictions

2018 C. Gallacher Longniddry 67 Craigmillar Park
2017 S. Hall / J. McDonald The Glen / Haddington  70 Uphall
2016 C. Blair Musselburgh 72 Kings Acre
2015 R. Hawthorn Murrayfield 75 Haddington
2014 J. Valentine Musselburgh 67 Winterfield
2013 C. Good Musselburgh 70 Linlithgow
2012 F. Johnston Longniddry 67 Ravelston
2011 S. Blair Royal Musselburgh 74 Torphin Hill
2010 L. Morgan Newbattle 71 Murrayfield
2009 V. Varadharajan Royal Burgess GS 71 Swanston
2008 S. Boyle Harburn 72 Kingsknowe
2007 S. Young Turnhouse 65 Merchants
2006 N. Henderson The Glen 67 The Glen
2005 C. Galloway Uphall 72 Broomieknowe
2004 P. Keeling North Berwick 72 Craigmillar Park
2003 G. Henderson Bathgate 70 Torphin Hill
2002 L. Saltman Kilspindie 63 Merchants
2001 B. Ross Lothianburn 70
2000 R. Herkes Dunbar 67
1999 D. Inglis Glencorse 67 Lothianburn
1998 D. Inglis Glencorse 69 Kingsknowe
1997 P. Barber Longniddry 71 Turnhouse
1996 F. Young Lothianburn 74
1995 P. Smith  Turnhouse 73 Craigmillar Park

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.