Lothians Golf Association

Ravelston GC

Junior Champion of Champions

The event 

The Lothians Boys' Champion of Champions is a relatively new event, having been started at Craigmillar Park in their Centenary year in 1995. Wherever possible, the venue has been at a Lothians club celebrating its Centenary.  

It is interesting to note that the first winner of the Speirs Trophy, the prize on offer in the Lothians' Boys' Championship, was J Aitchison (Caermount) and this long-standing non course-owning club now supports Lothians junior golf by sponsoring the Boys' Champion of Champions event.

Two winners of the event, 1998 and 1999 champion David Inglis and 2002 victor Lloyd Saltman, went on to represent Great Britain & Ireland in the Walker Cup.  

More detailed information about the trophies and the winners, including the runners-up, venues and scores was included in a hand-out enclosed with a Centenary brochure at the 2021 event.  This can be seen if you  click here.

Previous winners

Year Winner Club Score Image Venue
2023 J Wood Bathgate 66
2022 S Gallacher Prestonfield 74 Swanston
2021 N Canavan Longniddry 69 Baberton
2020 Not Played due to COVID 19 Restrictions

2019 Not Played due to COVID 19 Restrictions

2018 C. Gallacher Longniddry 67 Craigmillar Park
2017 S. Hall / J. McDonald The Glen / Haddington  70 Uphall
2016 C. Blair Musselburgh 72 Kings Acre
2015 R. Hawthorn Murrayfield 75 Haddington
2014 J. Valentine Musselburgh 67 Winterfield
2013 C. Good Musselburgh 70 Linlithgow
2012 F. Johnston Longniddry 67 Ravelston
2011 S. Blair Royal Musselburgh 74 Torphin Hill
2010 L. Morgan Newbattle 71 Murrayfield
2009 V. Varadharajan Royal Burgess GS 71 Swanston
2008 S. Boyle Harburn 72 Kingsknowe
2007 S. Young Turnhouse 65 Merchants
2006 N. Henderson The Glen 67 The Glen
2005 C. Galloway Uphall 72 Broomieknowe
2004 P. Keeling North Berwick 72 Craigmillar Park
2003 G. Henderson Bathgate 70 Torphin Hill
2002 L. Saltman Kilspindie 63 Merchants
2001 B. Ross Lothianburn 70
2000 R. Herkes Dunbar 67
1999 D. Inglis Glencorse 67 Lothianburn
1998 D. Inglis Glencorse 69 Kingsknowe
1997 P. Barber Longniddry 71 Turnhouse
1996 F. Young Lothianburn 74
1995 P. Smith  Turnhouse 73 Craigmillar Park

Handicap Trophy 

Year Winner Club Nett
2023 Cameron Brown Musselburgh 63

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.