Lothians Golf Association

Murrayfield GC 2023 SW Edinburgh Junior Open at Kingsknowe 2023

Boys Order Of Merit 

The Event

The Lothians clubs have had a very active Junior Open season running through the school summer holiday period. Until recently 34 events took place across the Lothians although this year this has wained to 21 events which we hope is a temporary downturn. We are about to contact our clubs to discuss the way forward. These are 18-hole events.

In 2022, the Association added the SGF Trophy and Vase to the standard list of events each year in addition to the statutory SW Edinburgh Junior Open and of course the Lothians Junior Championship and Matchplay. Further venues are selected each year for the Boys Order of Merit on a three-year rota system from our Lothians Clubs. 

We are delighted that the  Stephen Gallacher Foundation have continued to sponsor the event which has benfitted both organisations greatly.

One way of drawing yourself to the attention of the Lothians Golf Association selectors and the coaching committee is to perform consistently in Open tournaments particularly those qualifying for Order of Merit points.

The top ten players in each event score points as follows with points shared equally if there are ties:  

Position 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Points 100 85 70 60 50 40 30 20 15 10

A running total is kept and advertised at the counting events. At the end of the season, the top ten players are awarded vouchers. In 2023 the  Stephen Gallacher Foundation has again nominated the Lothians Order of Merit as a counting event on its  ‘Race to Dunbar’. Leading players will be invited to a grand final at Dunbar GC on a Sunday 8 October 2023.

In addition, the SG Foundation also run an U18 handicap OOM and U15 scratch and handicap OOM’s  which also serve as a qualifying event in the ‘Race to Dunbar’ as will their  Girls OOM

If you require any further information on the Order of Merit then please contact Past President Jean Macnab ( who will be acting as Lothians OOM co-ordinator in 2023. In her absence the Lothians Secretary David Doig will also be able to assist.

Have a good season and if you do we will see you at Dunbar in October. A full list of the 2023 dates and venues is listed here.

The history of the OOM and a list of winners can be seen by clicking the 'History' heading at the bottom of the list at the left hand side of this page.

Event No
Venue Holes Date
SGF Trophy and Vase (The Roxburghe) 54

Friday 16 June and Sunday 18 June 2023

Prestonfield Junior Open 18 Monday, 10th July 2023
 Musselburgh Junior Open 18 Thursday, 13 July 2023
Ratho Park Junior Open 18 Friday, 14th July 2023
Pumpherston Junior Open 18 Monday 17 July 2023
 Bathgate Junior Open 18 Thursday, 20 July 2023
 Merchants Junior Open 18

Monday, 24 July 2023

Murrayfield Junior Open 18 Tuesday, 25 July 2023
Longniddry Junior Open 18 Thursday, 27 July 2023
Lothians Boys Championship (Qualifying) 18 Sunday, 30 July 2023
Lothians Boys Championship (Match Play Stages) 18 Monday, 31 July 2023 to 4 August 2022. 
Glencorse Boy Open  18 Tuesday, 1 August 2023
SW Edinburgh Junior Open (Kingsknowe)  18 Monday, 7 August 2023
Royal Burgess Junior Open 18 Tuesday, 8 August 2023.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.