Lothians Golf Association

2019 Champions

Lothians Boys Championship

The Event

The GolfFit Lothians Junior Championship is traditionally held at the Braids. Qualifying is over 18 holes and the matchplay during the follwoing week. 

This is an event for boys who are under the age of 18 on 31st December in the year prior to the year of competition, it is open to players whose home club is affiliated to the Lothians Golf Association. Its roll of honour makes for impressive reading, the winners including Andrew Oldcorn (1977), Ian Young (1978) and David Inglis (1998).

The tournament will consist of an 18 hole stroke-play qualifying event with the players with top 8 scratch scores going on to play match play, in the evenings, on the following week. The champion receives the Spiers Trophy. The leading qualifier will receive the Lindsay Trophy. The Speirs Trophy is the second oldest of the trophies held by the Lothians Golf Association, having been first contested in 1925. 

The championship was, in fact, originally organised by Edinburgh Town Council. It ran the event until the mid-1960s, when it asked the Lothians Golf Association to take over that role. The event allows the Lothians Golf Association to work together with Edinburgh Leisure and the City of Edinburgh Council in their joint aim of promoting junior golf in the area. 

Thanks to support from the Stephen Gallacher Foundation there are also trophies for the leading Under 16 and Under 14 players in the qualifying event. This is a good opportunity for the younger players to get familiar with the Braids course, win an age range trophy and set themselves up for the main championship in future years.

More detailed information about the trophies and the winners, including the runners-up and the scores, was included in a hand-out enclosed with a centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you click here.


The tournament returned to it's normal venue of the Braid Hills for this year's event. It was Gullane GC that provided two young players in the Final match of this years championship. On a slightly breezy sunny night the players set off with one thing on their mind. It was an even first six holes with both players winning a hole each to have the match at all square. However, it was Fergus Brown who made a big move over the next four holes winning three of them to be three up after 11. Kiron Gribble never gave up and both boys birdied the 12th. Gribble unfortunately bogied the 13th with Brown winning the hole with a Par, and moving to 4up. The spoils were shared at 14 and with Brown's commanding lead and only looking for a half at the 15th he chipped to two feet with his third shot.. Gribble's birdie attempt went just passed and was conceded. This left Brown to finish with a par as he tapped away his putt for a win 4&3.

Both Boys can be proud of their efforts this week, particularly Kiron who is current leading the Boys Order of Merit and also being the leading qualifier from Sunday's round. This is Brown's first time in the Championship and has started with a winning effort.

Well done to all the players throughout the week who played with enthusiasm, speed and determination. 

Champion: Fergus Brown (Gullane)  who also won the Stephen Gallacher Foundation U16 Trophy for the best qualifying score at that age range.

Runner-Up: Kiron Gribble (Gullane) who also won the Lindsay Trophy for the best qualifying score of 69 and the Stephen Gallacher Foundation U14 Trophy for the best qualifying score at that age range.

Fergus is pictured here receiving the Boys Championship Trophy from President, Jean Macnab


Lothian Boys Championship - Champion

Year Champion Club
2023 J Wood Bathgate
2022 J Johnston Royal Burgess GS
2021 F Brown Gullane
2020 A Finnie Royal Burgess GS
2019 C Paterson Ratho Park
2018 C Paterson Ratho Park
2017 R Callan Bathgate
2016 J Duguid Dunbar
2015 M Napier Turnhouse
2014 L Bain Musselburgh
2013 C Hill Tantallon
2012 C Cochrane Mariott Dalmahoy
2011 L Bain Turnhouse
2010 S Fairburn Craigielaw
2009 S Fairburn Craigielaw
2008 T Blennerhassett Marriott Dalmahoy
2007 M Cunningham Longniddry
2006 D Warner Haddington
2005 S George Dalmahoy
2004 S Neilson Dunbar
2003 M Burnett Harburn
2002 P Mitchell Turnhouse
2001 R. Gill Craigmillar Park
2000 J. Taylor Ratho Park
1999 S. Grieve Kilspindie
1998 D. Inglis Glencorse
1997 L. Rhind Uphall
1996 A. Meikle Duddingston
1995 O.J.C.Lindsay Murrayfield
1994 A. Macphail Ratho Park
1993 I.D. Wilson Liberton
1992 S.J.A. Smith West Linton
1991 S. Armstrong Ratho Park
1990 M. Stein Craigmillar Park
1989 N. Archibald Kingsknowe
1988 K. Smillie West Lothian
1987 B.J. Smith Duddingston
1986 K. Mungall Bathgate
1985 K.G. Tait Craigmillar Park
1984 D. Simson Bruntsfield Links GS
1983 B. Shields Bathgate
1982 J. Yuille Royal Burgess GS
1981 A.Hogg Baberton
1980 S.G. Farrell West Lothian
1979 D. Beveridge Baberton
1978 I.D. Young Baberton
1977 A.S. Oldcorn Dalmahoy
1976 D Hamilton Royal Burgess GS
1975 C.V. Murphy Merchant of Edinburgh
1974 G.R.S. Millar Swanston
1973 D.G. Cummings Prestonfield
1972 M. Shipton Turnhouse
1971 D.B. Smith Watsonians
1970 R.S. Hall Musselburgh
1969 M. Henry Duddingston
1968 P.B. Lamb Glencorse
1967 L.A. Gordon Turnhouse
1966 B.J. Reilly Carrickvale
1965 B. Gallacher Bathgate St Marys
1964 T.A. Rooney Scotus Academy
1963 G.D. Carter George Heriots
1962 A.G. Leitch Royal High School
1961 D. Chambers Boroughmuir
1960 P.G. Brown Melville College
1959 R.C.H. Robertson George Heriots
1958 H.C. Brownlee Craigmillar Park G.C.
1957 M. Reid Daniel Stewarts Col.
1956 R.D.B.M. Shade Portobello Secondary
1955 R.D.B.M. Shade Portobello Secondary
1954 R.D.B.M. Shade Portobello Secondary
1953 A.P. Ritchie Royal High School
1952 D. Semple Royal High School
1951 S. Smith Electric G.C.
1950 J.G. Ewart George Heriots
1949 A.D. Spalding Liberton
1948 W.G. Gardner George Watsons
1947 W.G. Gardner George Watsons
1939 R.R. Farmer George Heriots
1938 D. F. Beatson Kingsknowe
1937 H. Snow George Watsons
1936 V. Wightman Dalmahoy
1935 S.J.A. Macdonald Edinburgh Academy
1934 H.R. Robertson Merchants of Edinburgh
1933 W.D. Sinclair Edinburgh Institution
1932 E.C. Hunter George Watsons
1931 D. S. Wemyss Daniel Stewarts Col.
1930 E.L. Thomson Royal High School
1929 E.L. Thomson Royal High School
1928 W. Hogg
1927 I.M. Buchanan Caermount
1926 R.M. Ralston Edinburgh Thistle
1925 J.Aitchison Caermount

Lothian Boys Championship - Leading Qualifier

Year Champion Club
2023 K Gribble Dunbar
2022 R McClafferty Linlithgow
2021 K Gribble Gullane
2020 A Finnie Royal Burgess GS
2019 C Kenneally Kilspindie
2018 C Paterson Ratho Park
2017 A Hall Kilspindie
2016 L Reid Craigielaw
2015 A Benson West Lothian
2014 K Cantley Liberton
2013 M Naysmith Marriott Dalmahoy
2012 L Bain Turnhouse
2011 E Bowden The Glen
2010 L Gaughan Bathgate
2009 G Forrest Craigielaw
2008 O Huish North Berwick
2007 S McGarvey Glencorse
2006 S McAllister Craigielaw
2005 D Warner Haddington
2004 S Neilson Dunbar
2003 S Beattie Ratho Park
2002 M Lamb Haddington
2001 R J Gill Craigmillar Park
2000 J Mc Ghee Duddingston
1999 G Wright West Linton
1998 D Inglis Glencorse
1997 L Rhind Uphall
1996 C.Craig Dunbar

U14 Championship

Year Champion Club
2023 F Walters Gullane
2022 F Walters Gullane
2021 K Gribble Gullane
2020 J Johnston Royal Burgess GS
2019 V Hundeboll North Berwick
2018 F Brown Gullane
2017 L Murdoch Kings Acre
2016 C Adam Royal Burgess G S
2015 L Currid Gogarburn
2014 L Currid Gogarburn
2013 J Stewart Harburn
2012 Ben Stirling Kilspindie

U16 Championship

Year Champion Club
2023 K Gribble Dunbar
2022 D McGlinchey The Rennaisance
2021 F Brown Gullane
2020 J Wood Bathgate
2019 A Hendry Gullane
2018 A Hawthorn Murrayfield
2017 L Currid Bathgate
2016 C Gallagher Longniddry
2015 D Rudd Longniddry
2014 L Govenlock Tantallon
2013 M Naysmith Dalmahoy
2012 Murray Naysmith Marriott Dalmahoy

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.