Lothians Golf Association

Murrayfield GC 2023 SW Edinburgh Junior Open at Kingsknowe 2023

History Boys Order Of Merit 

The Event

The Lothians clubs have a very active Junior Open season running through the school summer holiday period. At present, 34 events take place across the Lothians. These are 18-hole events.

In 2022, the Association has added the SGF Trophy and Vase to the standard list of events each year in addition to the statutory SW Edinburgh Junior Open and of course the Lothians Junior Championship and Matchplay. Further venues are selected each year for the Boys Order of Merit on a three-year rota system from our Lothians Clubs. 

We are delighted that the  Stephen Gallacher Foundation have continued to sponsor the event over the last number of years which has benfitted both organisations greatly.

One way of drawing yourself to the attention of the Lothians Golf Association selectors and the coaching committee is to perform consistently in Open tournaments particularly those qualifying for Order of Merit points.

The top ten players in each event score points as follows with points shared equally if there are ties:  

Position 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Points 100 85 70 60 50 40 30 20 15 10


Sean Gallacher of Prestonfield proved a worthy winner leading for most of the way, and eventually finishing with an impressive total of 648 Points. Neareast challenger Jack Collingwood (West Links) trailed by 153 Points.  

With 72 boys scoring points the overall competition was seen as successful, Sean won five of the events and rarely finished outside the top five.  Callum Kennelly, Stuart Reinink, Jack Collingwood, Jake Johnstone and Andrew Cameron all won opens. Special congratulations goes to Jake Johnson who won the Lothian's Boys title. 


After an excellent couple of months of Junior Golf it was Kiron Gribble of Gullane that came to the top in the Boys Order of Merit Championship. Kiron has had a wonderful season in the Junior ranks with wins at Dunbar and Turnhouse before becoming the Leading Quailifier in the Lothians Championship. He also lost narrowly in the Lothians Championship Matchplay Final and was also runner up at three other Junior events at Craigmillar Park, North Berwick and Broomieknowe. Magnus Braby of Craigielaw put on a late surge to be in second place but failed to catch the runaway winner, with Sean Gallacher of Prestonfield a couple of points behind in Third place.

Kiron is therefore a deserving Winner of this title, a first time win for a Gullane member. He will be presented with his trophy nearer the end of the year and hopefully this will be undertaken through SGF, our Sponsors, with European Tour Professional, Stephen Gallacher doing the honours. Therefore a photo of this follow.

2021 Final Leading Positions

Position Name Club Points
1 Kiron Gribble Gullane 700
2 Magnus Braby Craigielaw 350
3 Sean Gallacher Prestonfield 348
4 Jack Collingswood West Links 245
5 Dylan Maisey Loretto 241
6 Luca Smith Baberton 199
7 Luke Greig Loretto 167
7= Fergus Brown Gullane 167
9 Ciaran Jones Deer Park 153
10 Jamie Napier Broomieknowe 140

Updates on the Order of Merits will appear after each event on the Lothians website.

Previous Winners

Year Winner Club
2023 J. Collingswood West Links
2022 S. Gallacher  Prestonfield
2021 K. Gribble Gullane
2020 Not Played Covid Restrictions
2019 V. Hundeboll North Berwick
2018 C. Currie Turnhouse
2017 J. McDonald Haddington
2016 C. Gallacher Longniddry
2015 R. Henderson Turnhouse
2014 C. Farrell Longniddry
2013 R. Paterson Kilspindie
2012 L. Bain Turnhouse
2011 S. McLaren Bruntsfield Links GS
2010 R. Brydon Merchants of Edinburgh
2009 R. Pelling Prestonfield
2008 S. Maxwell Craigielaw
2007 S. Boyle Harburn
2006 S. Deegan Prestonfield
2005 R Pelling Prestonfield
2004 B. Mackay Prestonfield
2003 B. Mackay Prestonfield
2002 J. Kennedy Mortonhall
2001 T. Beattie Ratho Park
2000 M. Lamb Haddington
1999 J. Taylor Ratho Park
1998 A. Love Dunbar
1997 D. Ingles Dunbar
1996 C. Craig Dunbar
1995 OJ. Lindsay Murrayfield
1994 W. Fleming Torphin Hill
1993 C. Cheape Prestonfield

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.