Lothians Golf Association

Observers win Sivewright Quaich

The Sivewright Quaich final was played between Observers and SMARTS, the holders, on a lovely day although breezy at times.

The first game ended with the SMARTS first couple of Alan Dickson and Craig Clarke finishing 1 up after 18 holes. Although the Prestonfield affiliated club pairing were down early in their match they turned it around at the turn and were ahead by 2 playing 18 but a pitch to a foot at the last by Bob King for a winning birdie reduced the deficit to 1.

In the second game the Observers second couple of Rab Jackson and Stewart Leslie were always in control turning 4 up and although the SMARTS couple pulled 2 holes back by the 16th they lost the 17th to a par 4 and the overall match finished with a victory to Observers by 2/1.

Observers last won the trophy in 2006 and were previously in the final in 1986, finishing runners up, when one of their team was Stewart Leslie. 

The Winning Team are pictured here being presented with their trophy by the Captain of Prestonfield GC.

From R to L: Keith Peacock, Bob King, Rab Jackson, Prestonfield Captain, Ian Cowan, and Stewart Leslie. 

We should also mention Henry He who played in two earlier rounds for Observers.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.