Lothians Golf Association

Tight finish between home players to lift the McManus Trophy.

At a fantastically presented Newbattle GC 57 players set out in their attempt to become the Lothians Handicap Strokeplay Champion on a good dry day.

With some excellent scoring across the field it was two home club players that were in a close tussle to wrestle to trophy from each other. The competition is split into three handicap categories with one player taking the silverware as overall winner.

However, following the countback it was Mike O'Rourke (Newbattle) that managed to scrape home on the BIH having posted a Nett 65, and also winning the low handicap category. His Club colleague, James Hogg (Newbattle) who also carded a Nett 65 who lifted the Mid Handicap Section and Ashley Marron (Uphall) with a Nett 66 who was the successful winner in the higher handicap category. 

There were three prizes in each category with only three shots splitting the nine prize winners.

The prizewinners were

Category A - 1st Mike O'Rourke (Newbattle) nett 65, 2nd Brian Sharp (Uphall) nett 66, 3rd Brian Thomson (Greenburn) nett 67.

Category B - 1st James Hogg (Newbattle) nett 65, Steven Brady (Kingsknowe) nett 66, 3rd Stephen Myatt (Newbattle) nett 68

Category C - 1st Ashley Marron (Uphall) nett 66, 2nd Ronald Nolan (Kingsknowe) nett 67, 3rd Robert Wilkinson (Uphall) nett 67

 The Winner, Mike O'Rourke is pictured here receiving the McManus Trophy from Joe McManus (left) who's family have sponsored the trophy for this event and the Immediate Past President, John Allan who is representing the Lothians. 


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.