Lothians Golf Association

Prestonfield Golf Club

Lothians Sivewright Quaich

The Event

The Sivewright Quaich was instigated by W A W Sivewright, one of a distinguished band of people who have been President of the Lothians Golf Association (1960-62) and of the Scottish Golf Union (1966-68). He also served as Secretary of the Lothians (1951-1958). The idea for the event was in response to an increase in the subscriptions, by the SGU, for what were called non-course owning clubs at the time. (Now known as Affiliates)

The format is a handicap version of the Dispatch Trophy where four-man teams play foursomes aggregate match play in a knock-out competition during the season.

The final has been traditionally played at Prestonfield Golf Club, which was Bill Sivewright's home club.

The initial tournament was a great success with 32 teams taking part and Ethicon beating Standard Golf Club 4 and 3 in the final.

Encouraged by the extra teams over the last few years we are hoping the numbers will continue to be sustained if not increased. Affiliates now also have the option of entering more than one team which is also helping to keep the numbers up.

One issue has been the cost of green fees but with teams only having to pay once in the season (when they lose, or not at all if they reach the final) this can be contained especially if the host society adheres to the suggestions made in Rule 9 which is to speak to the host club secretary beforehand and try and get a reasonable deal especially as this is a foursomes event.

Our recent governance review highlighted the fact that we should do more for players in the higher handicap ranges. This competition caters for people with handicaps between 6 and 18 so it certainly addresses that issue.

More detailed information about the trophy and the winners, including the runners-up, venues and scores, was included in a hand-out that was enclosed with a centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you  click here.

Sivewright Quaich

Year Club
2023 Hailes
2022 Smart TSB
2021 Buckstone Golf Club 'A'
2020 Not Played
2019 Observers
2017 Royal Bank of Scotland
2016 Buckstone Golf Club
2015 Watsonian FP GC
2014 Register House
2013 Buckstone Golf Club
2012 George Heriots FP's
2011 Buckstone Golfing Society
2010 Ethicon
2009 Scottish Life
2008 Cramond
2007 Scottish Life
2006 Observers
2005 Stewarts & Melville FP
2004 B.B.T.
2003 Broomieknowe Home
2002 Temple
2001 Bruntsfield Short Hole
2000 Bruntsfield Short Hole
1999 George Heriots F.P.
1998 Scottish Equitable
1997 Ethicon
1996 Kingston
1995 Lochcraig
1994 Lochcraig
1993 East of Scotland Dental
1992 C.E.W.
1991 Cameron Iron Works
1990 East of Scotland Dental G.S.
1989 Evening News & Dispatch
1988 Granton G.S.
1987 Wallyford Welfare
1986 Binivell
1985 Stewarts & Melville F.P.
1984 Torphin "20"
1983 Forestry Commission (HQ)
1982 Lothian & Borders Police
1981 Buckstone Golfing Society
1980 Thorntree
1979 Ormiston Miners Welfare
1978 Royal Bank of Scotland
1977 Torphin "20"
1976 Edinburgh Insurance
1975 British Leyland
1974 Standard Life
1973 Edinburgh & District Motor Trade
1972 Hailes
1971 Ethicon
1970 Standard Life
1969 Ethicon

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.