Lothians Golf Association

Muirfield Golf Course

Lothians Handicap Matchplay

The Lothians Handicap Match Play is open to players from all the clubs and societies affiliated to the Lothians Golf Association.

Clubs have complete freedom to choose who represents them with the only requirement being that the player has a national handicap between 10 and 28 at the time of entry. In the past Clubs have chosen their B Champion, the person of the right handicap who has progressed the furthest in the summer singles, the winner of a particular handicap event, or just someone who has expressed an interest in playing, drawn from a hat if necessary.

A draw is made in February, with the first names out of the hat enjoying home advantage through until the semi-finals, which, along with the final, are played at a neutral venue.

More detailed information about the trophy and the winners, including the runners-up, venues and scores, was included in a hand-out that was enclosed with a centenary brochure handed out at the 2021 event. This can be seen if you click here

Lothian Handicap Matchplay - Champion

Year Champion Club
2023 S Leslie Observers
2022 S Leslie Observers
2021 B Bishop  Pumpherston
2020 Not Played Not Played due to COVID Restrictions
2019 D Gilroy Corstorphine 8.30
2018 A Thomson Harburn
2017 A Laurie Pumpherston
2016 P Ogilvie Niddry Castle
2015 R O'Malley Edinburgh City Chambers
2014 K Robertson Prestonfield
2013 J Dorrian Royal Burgess
2012 A Allan Dunbar
2011 B Anderson Torphin Hill
2010 D. Neilson Craigielaw
2009 J Gladwin Bass Rock
2008 M Sinclair Standard Life
2007 B Crow Bass Rock
2006 C Campbell Dundas Parks
2005 I Robb B.B.T.
2004 A Robertson Electric
2003 S. Sheridan R.I.C.S.
2002 P. Plunkett Communities Scotland
2001 M. Sharma Mortonhall
2000 G. Ross Tantallon
1999 D. Macsween Gifford
1998 B. Casey Bruntsfield Allied
1997 G. Curle Pumpherston
1996 P. Millar Third
1995 R. Fleeting C.E.W.
1994 G. Cummings Pumpherston
1993 A.R. Whitelaw L&B Fire Brigade
1992 W.W. Park Scottish Equitable
1991 D.J. Cockburn Mortonhall
1990 K. Devlin Pumpherston
1989 R.W. Herschell Torphin Hill
1988 R.D. Linton Bruntsfield Short Hole

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.