Lothians News
11/02/2018 Club Competitions Deadlines

Closing date of 26th February for the Champion of Champions and Handicap Match Play is approaching fast. Please ensure that your Club has entered your representatives before the deadline.


Closing date of 5th March for the Sivewright is also nearing. Please note that there is no entry fee for this competition as we celebrates its 50th Anniversary.


The number of entries from our 108 clubs and societies for the Champion of Champions and Handicap Match Play, and from our 38 societies for the Sivewright Quaich are as follows -


Champion of Champions 57   To see those entered click here

Handicap Match Play 46   To see those entered click here

Sivewright Quaich   11   To see those entered click here

16/01/2018 Entries for Club Competitions now being taken

Information has now been sent to Club Secretaries/Managers inviting them to submit entries for the various Club Competitions. (Champion of Champions, Handicap Match Play, Sivewright Quaich, Team Tournament and the Boys Champion of Champions). The first 3 have closing dates at the end of February and early March with the other two later in the season. Players will be able to see who has been entered by checking the competition section of this website and following the tabs to the various events.

So for example for the Men’s Champion of Champions click the Competition tab then follow the links – Men – Champion of Champions – Entries. (At the time of writing there are already 6 entries registered after only one day.)

Current Champion of Champions, Graham Davidson of Winterfield (left)

Current Handicap Match Play Champion, Alan Laurie of Pumpherston (right)

In 2017, for the first time, we logged the Men’s and Boy’s Champions at each of our 108 Clubs (70) and Societies (38) and most of these are shown under the Club section of the website on a Club Champions tab. If your name is missing please let us know. Congratulations to you all and we hope you are able to take part in our Champion of Champions, the winner of which also qualifies for the Scottish Champion of Champions.

We will follow up soon with some additional comments on the Handicap Match Play event and on the Sivewright Quaich and we expect the entries for the Individual Championships (Men’s Championship, Boy’s Championship, Seniors Championship and South East District Championship) to go live in the next few days.

16/11/2017 2018 Lothians Amateur Championship sponsored by The Sharkey Group at Luffness New Golf Club

Sunday 5th August - 36 hole qualifying

Tuesday 7th August - Match Play stage 1

Thursday 9th August - Match Play stage 2

Saturday 11th August - Semi-finals and Final

The Lothians Amateur Championship in its present format was inaugurated in 1947. In 2018 it will be the third time that Luffness New has hosted the event and the first time since 1961 when H. C. Brownlee (Craigmillar Park) defeated A. F. D  MacGregor (Merchants of Edinburgh) in the 36 hole final.




Sat. 5th May

Team Tournament

(Including NCO)

Royal   Musselburgh

Sun. 27th May

Junior Championship Qualifying

Braid Hills No.1

29th,30th,31st May

Junior Championship Match Play

Braid Hills No.1

Mon. 2nd July

Seniors Championship



Championship 36 Hole Qualifying

Luffness New

7th,9th,11th Aug.

Championship Match Play

Luffness New

Mon.13th  Aug.

Champion of Champions Semi-finals

Handicap Match Play Semi-finals


Wed.15th  Aug.

Champion of Champions Final

Handicap Match Play Final


Sun. 19th Aug.

Junior Champion of Champions


Sat. 1st ,Sun. 2nd Sept.

South East District Championship


Sun.16th Sept.

Sivewright Trophy Final